The Motivational Rockstarr

Motivational Monday: Let’s Write A New Chapter In Your Life…Literally!

Posted on: October 17, 2011

Okay, Rockstar!

We’ve shaken the dust off. We’ve faced the nay sayers. We’ve even battled ourselves – and hopefully won! Now, it’s time to get busy writing. 🙂

So, let’s talk about that book!

A lot of new writers, and even some seasoned veterans, have a difficult time trying to decipher where to begin in their literary journey. Should you dive right in? Do you need an outline first? What about your synopsis? There are a lot of places you can begin writing your book. What you need to do is find the writing style that fits you.

Here’s what works for me (key word – ME!). I typically come up with the entire story (No, seriously! The whole thing!) in my head all at once. From there, I give birth to my characters, write down the synopsis of the story (not what you find on the back of the book, but my own personal guide of how the story will play out) and create a chapter by chapter outline. This keeps me on track while I’m writing. Once I do all of that, I start writing whatever is in my head. Yes, I go chapter by chapter in most cases, but if I come up with an exciting plot twist or think of a line I want one of my characters to say I will not hesitate to write it down. (You just don’t know how difficult it is to recall that stuff when you need it!)

That’s the method to my masterpieces, but here’s the catch.

Almost inevitably, something somewhere down the line will change!

You’ll change a character’s name. You’ll add an extra twist to the plot. You may even write a completely different story from what you intended. (That happened while writing the book I’m releasing tomorrow!) It’s bound to happen, so be prepared. This is one of those moments when you have no choice but to go with the flow. If something changes, follow it and see where it takes you. If you like it, great! If not, manipulate it some more until you do. Just because you had the story playing out in your head one way does not mean its going to stay that way. Almost every published author will tell you that at least five (count them: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) things changed in the course of writing their books! It happens. Embrace it. Love it. Feel it’s energy. And let it flow.

So today, begin writing that book you’ve been pondering over for the last few days…weeks…months…years…whatever! Let the story unfold naturally. Don’t force yourself to write, but begin the process of writing. Stay focused, but most importantly, have fun! Don’t turn what you love to do into a job. Instead, make it an exciting adventure that’s going to take you somewhere you’ve never been, dealing with people you’ve never met, while embarking on a journey you’ve never explored!

Happy writing!

~Rockstarr~

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

