The Motivational Rockstarr

Motivational Monday: All Systems Go!

Posted on: October 31, 2011

Starting today, and all through the month of November, I will focus on my writers for National Novel Writing Month. As some of you may – or may not  – know I have decided to enter NaNoWriMo for my fourth straight year. Out of four years there has only been one year that I did NOT complete the challenge – and that was last year. This time, I plan on redeeming myself as the fan-fucking-fabulous Rockstarr that I am and knock that challenge right out the park!

What is NaNoWriMo you say?

It’s the best creative inducing, coffee requiring, sleep depriving, insanity driving, makes-you-wanna-shake-somebody-because-a-character-is-cutting-up creating writing challenge! Simply put, you have to create a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. From start to finish. No cheating allowed! It’s literary epicness at its FINEST!

I started taking the NaNo (as it is so affectionately called) challenges in 2008. That novel was never released, although it probably will  be in the future. The next year, I wrote the novel that will be released this december. Last year was a flop due to personal reasons, but I’m glad that flop happened because it taught me about keeping serious personal and professional issues separate – and I take NaNo VERY SERIOUSLY! (insert eye twitch here)

Tomorrow, November 1st, is the beginning of the challenge. By NaNo’s calculations, you have to write at least 1,667 words a day to meet the 50,000 word requirement by Nov. 30th. I, being the overachiever that I am, aim to do at least 2,500 words a day. Why? Because I have no intentions on giving up my weekends! LOL! That and I need them to go out and promote my already published books! At any rate, it gives me a cushion should I start backsliding and that usually happens between the 8th and 13th. (I have this madness down to a science!!!)

If you’d like more info on NaNo, or even better, if you want to join the insanity with me, feel free to check out the site and sign up here! Starting tomorrow we’ll get busy on creating that first – or next – masterpiece of yours! And yes, yelling, screaming and fabulous cursing (mine will be in English and Italiano) are allowed!

On your mark! Get set!

Wait for it…

~Rockstarr~

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

