The Motivational Rockstarr

Project 365: Day 178 ~ Death Is Inevitable – Part 2

Posted on: December 27, 2011

It seems like ever since my last entry four days ago I keep having dreams about death. For the past three out of four nights someone has died in my dreams. I get that it’s a subconscious message about the progression and transition I’m going through in life, but it also has me thinking about it in another way.

No…I’m not dying!

But…what if I did?!

That’s a hard pill to swallow, especially if you don’t have an answer. It got me to thinking about what would happen to my children should I meet my demise. I also started to think about what would happen to my business. Unlike a lot of people my age I actually have a living will & trust. I also have a durable POA (Power of Attorney) for medical and financial decisions should I be unable to make them, and an advance directive to say what I want to happen to me should I be unable to decide. Even though I have these documents, I need to update them because it’s been a couple of years since I created them and a lot has changed in my life since then.

These documents are very important for everyone…no matter what your age, health status, financial status, or whatever…to have. They also need to  be updated when major changes take place in your life, such as a marriage/divorce, birth/death of a child and/or parent, asset change, etc. Anything that could or would affect your decision of what should happen to you needs to be adjusted and assessed AT LEAST every six months.

I’ve soooo been backsliding on the check-ups! Thank God nothing has happened to me yet, so I still have a chance to make my updates. I’ll be doing that in a few minutes. And no, you don’t need a lawyer to create these documents for you! Although you can get one to do the leg work, and if you have a lot of assets or a complicated situation that would be a wise decision to make. In my case, I can still hold it down on my own and so long as the documents are notarized and witnesses they are just as legal and binding as it would be if a lawyer did it.

(By the way, the laws of legality when it comes to documents vary state by state, so be sure to check with your own state for documentation rules and regulations!)

So get online and google these documents, download them, and get them printed, filled out, witnessed, and notarized so you won’t have to worry about what will happen to you or your loved ones that are dependent on you should your time come!

Like Larry the Cable Guy would say, “Get R Done!”

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

