The Motivational Rockstarr

Project 365: Day 312 – Nothing Matters but NOW!

Posted on: May 10, 2012

I’ve been MIA for the past 44 days, but for a good reason. You see, as I entered Phase III of growth I’ve come to discover that not everything – nor everyone – was going to be able to transition with me. So that’s what I’ve been doing since April 17th…transitioning.

Currently, I’m staying with a friend. As of Monday, I’ll be staying with another friend for a couple of weeks. After that, I’m probably going back to my previous friend. (I sound like a ping-pong ball!) So why am I doing all of this bouncing around?

Simple: It’s part of the process.

See, I have my time-table and God has another. Since I don’ t readily know God’s time-table I tend to make moves on my own. Not the best thing to do, but I’d rather be ping-ponged between positive environments than remain stagnant in a negative environment. Plus, I’m still searching for my “spot” in the A and haven’t found it yet. It’s not where I’ve been, but I hope it’s where I’m going.

So what does any of this have to do with the headlining title? Who knows! I like to ramble!

But let’s focus on that for a bit. I’m breaking out of the habit of retreating to the past or running to the future. I haven’t really liked any of my “now” situations when they were “now” situations, so to escape them I did either the former or the latter. As I was ending Phase II it hit me that the reason why I despised the “now” so much was because I was never there! Yes, I may have been physically present, but I wasn’t IN the present! I was either playing in the past or fantasizing about the future. My “now” was always pushed off to “later”…you know, like the candy!

I came to the conclusion that the reason why I kept escaping my “now” was because I never enjoyed, accepted, or appreciated them. So I stopped hiding from what was right in front of me all along. Being in the past caused me to bring up a lot of things – and people – from the past. That’s not necessarily a bad thing – I’m glad I rekindled and patched up things – but I started to feel like I was going backwards. That’s not my goal.

Fantasizing for the future was no better because it started to get blurry. Since I wasn’t doing anything in the present to prepare for the future I kept running towards my destinations started to become unclear. Then they started to mirror the past. That was definitely a no-no. I had to make a decision. It was an obvious one, but a hard one to make none the less.

I decided that no matter what happens I have to – and will always – remain in the NOW! That’s all that matters really. The future isn’t guaranteed and the past will never return. All we have is now – this second, this moment; and it is in this second, this moment that we need to love, accept, and appreciate with gratitude. That’s what I’ve been doing lately and the rewards are starting to reap!

Now I won’t say it’s easy. I’ve had to battle slipping into La La Land a few times! There is a difference between visualizing the future you want to have versus creating an alternative world to escape the demands of everyday life. I was in another world…universe…galaxy even! (Or are those the same thing?! Eh! Who cares?!) Now I focus on the future only at night when I’m doing my meditations and visualizations. Outside of that, unless I’m making a decision based on what I want to create I stay firmly planted in the present. FIRMLY!

I’m rounding the corner on Project 365. In less than two months it’ll all be a memory. I want to exit this year-long journey having made some strides. Yet those strides can only be made by staying in the NOW. That’s what I plan to do for now…and the rest of my NOWS!

Now! 😮

3 Responses to "Project 365: Day 312 – Nothing Matters but NOW!"

Yes, you have been MIA for a while. It’s good to see you back!

Living in the now is very important. I find that my mind likes to wander both in the past and the future for long periods of time. Not a good environment for production. This also alters my mood drastically. I can tell you this is not good for me at all.

I’m glad to see that your plan for living and appreciating your NOW is working for you. Looking forward to your next post. 🙂

Yes, you have been MIA for a while. It’s good to see you back!

Living in the now is very important. I find that my mind likes to wander both in the past and the future for long periods of time. Not a good environment for production. This also alters my mood drastically. I can tell you this is not good for me at all.

I’m glad to see that your plan for living and appreciating your NOW is working for you. Looking forward to your next post. 🙂

Thanks, Kionda! It definitely was a wake up call for me; one that I needed more than I care to admit. Yet we can’t learn our lessons and move forward until we prove that we’ve incorporated them into our EVERYDAY lives! So when I catch myself slipping I simply affirm, “I am in the now and loving every second of it!” So far, so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

