The Motivational Rockstarr

Self-Love Challenge – Day 5: Always Speak Good About Yourself!

Posted on: March 1, 2014

Yesterday was all about positive affirmations! Not the kind that will you into becoming an overnight millionaire/billionaire…but the REAL kind of affirmation that helps boost your self-confidence, self-esteem, and self-worth! Those are the key ingredients to everything we week and – as with everything else – they can take time to develop.

Here’s my theory on affirmations. They DO work…if you know how to work them. See, people hear about these ideas and concepts on how to live a happy, healthy, more fulfilling life and get so caught up in the hype and excitement that they overlook the work and dedication it takes to get there. They feel it is possible to go from -$200 to $200,000 in the time it takes to listen to an audio book, go to a seminar, or do a challenge. All they have to do is chant some positive affirmations and *BAM*…they’ve arrived!

*pulls out needle*

That’s not how it works.

*bursts bubble*

*applies bandage and gives hug*

Anything worth having and developing takes time. It’s a process and no matter what anyone says about the process it STILL takes time! The same goes with developing yourself. You took nine months to create! You took decades to get where you are now! What makes you think you can pull a 180 over your inner and outer world and change it all up within a matter of minutes, hours, or even days?! You can’t…but at the same time it’s those minutes, hours, and days that get you STARTED!

So that’s what I did yesterday. I STARTED the process of speaking Self-Love back into my life. Every hour I made sure to say something positive, affirming, and uplifting to myself. Affection and appreciation from others is always good, but it’s even better when it’s coming from the source…you! I even work up this morning speaking positive about myself. That felt great!

Now this doesn’t mean negative thoughts won’t try to creep in. Even in my case, my ego tried to get me because I was supposed to post this blog last night…but clearly it didn’t get done. I told myself that was okay. As long as it gets posted that’s what really matters. The date – to me – is irrelevant. Then I switched it around from feeling bad about not posting it to feeling good about how many people will be touched when I do post it. See…it’s the ol’ switcheroo! That’s all it takes to turn a negative thought and turn it into a positive one. As Alicia Keys said on her first album…”Flip it!”

Today’s Focus: Go after your dreams!

I’ll be pretty busy today, but that doesn’t mean I can’t do mental work on my dreams. You should take some time every day – no, seriously, EVERY SINGLE DAY – to work on your dreams. It’s okay to work for someone else, but don’t neglect YOUR purpose for being here. Don’t neglect YOUR passion! That’s just as important – if not more important – to living your life. Have a great day and share some positive affirmations you used yesterday, today, or any day! You never know who needs to hear them!

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

