The Motivational Rockstarr

Lighten Up!

Posted on: October 24, 2016

Yes, I said it! There is way too much negativity going on in the world. I, for one, can no longer take it! I mean, come on people! Not everything requires the resting b**ch face! Some things you need to address. Some things you need to laugh off. Some things you need to just let go. We already live in a world ruled by chaos, confusion, and criticism. We deal with fear, failure, and frail egos. This “microwave generation” insists on having what they want, when they want it, how they want it, right now! And not right now…but RIGHT NOW!!! Everyone’s all go, go, go…gimmie, gimmie, gimmie…grind, grind, grind!

*insert eye roll here*

Breathe, people!

Let me be the first to give you permission to forget what you’ve heard, seen, or believe and to – for once – be unapologetically you! Why? Because that’s who the world needs right now. We don’t need another business expert. We don’t need another financial guru. We don’t need another social media maven, or transformational teacher. The world has enough of them. I know because I follow – and Love – a lot of them. What the world needs is YOU! The writer! The dreamer! The achiever! And we need you JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!

What brings about this rant of mine? Because I’m beginning to notice a pattern that’s very unsettling to my inner child. It’s this incessant need to look the part of success. We’ve all been sold this dream that in order to be a successful, financially flamboyant person (you know you want to laugh at that…go ahead, it’s okay!) we have to act, look, and be a certain way. We need to have this cold, stern, I-talk-only-business face on at all times. We need to negotiate deals like corporals. We can’t crack jokes, or share politically incorrect memes, or even post our true feelings on a subject out of fear of – gasp – having or own opinion. and – an even bigger gasp – having that opinion judged!

Since when did becoming robots equate to success? Since when did selling our soul for fame and recognition become the ONLY path? Quite frankly, I’m over it and you should be, too! Granted, there are certain aspects of success that are necessary: the need to respect individuals, networking and communication, and being in integrity. You should be able to do these things AND be successful AND be who you truly are. After all, without respect I doubt you’ll have many clients. Without networking and communication your customer base will be non-existent. As far as integrity, you have to be who you say you are…and you can’t do that trying to emulate something or someone that you’re NOT!

I’m a highly functioning, high vibrational, high spirited individual that LOVES to laugh, have fun, joke around, and be the unfiltered, glitter throwing, smile flashing, crazy dancing, spontaneous goofball that I am! Yet society has me feeling lately as if I need to tone it down and squeeze into this perception of the strict discipline, straight face, all knowing, BORING (a Gemini’s worst fear) individual that wants massive amounts of people to follow me because I see all and know all!

I think not!

Honey, listen! It’s okay – and necessary – to be authentically you. And I mean the legit definition of authentic. Not the mirror-imitate-this-expert type of authentic. Don’t worry about who doesn’t like you or get you.  Your circle – your tribe – need you just the way you are. But you can’t find them until you take off the mask, put an end to the façade, and be who you are. Damn it, didn’t you learn ANYTHING from Dr. Seuss?!

Be who you are and say what you feel. Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.

I hope this gives you the permission that you feel you need, which you really DON’T need, to just be you. I’m taking my own advice and returning back to my authentic, Love-centered self. Why? Because that’s who I am, that’s who I’ve always been, and that’s who I’ll always be.

#UnapologeticallyBlack

#UnapologeticallyIntelligent

#UnapologeticallyFun

#UnapologeticallyDifferent

#UnapologeticallyMe

What’s your #unapologetically_ hashtag?! Share below! You just might inspire someone else. :o)

 

Leave a Reply

Not on WordPress? That's okay! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive your daily dose of rocked out motivation by email.

Join 206 other followers

Motivational Boosters

The Motivational Rockstarr

Tweet me!

